top of page

The Two Foxes Co. Blog

Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Two Foxes Co.

Christmas Small Business Gift Guide 2018

Oh how I love this time of year! I love the twinkly lights an decorations, the yummy food, the time spent with friends and family...it really is a wonderful time of year! It's also a time of year when we can support creatives and small businesses by buying unique and often handmade gifts for our loved ones. Not only will those receiving the gifts love them, but the people behind the small business will literally do a dance of joy!


So I've put together a little gift guide for you with a few of my favourite items from small businesses and creatives this year. It really hasn't been hard to put together - they've fallen into my lap (or my Instagram feed).


Prints


I love this idea! When it first popped up on my Instagram feed I instantly saved it, knowing that I would want to come back to it later. While it's suggested as a first anniversary gift, I think this would make a wonderful Christmas gift as a celebration of the year just gone. Jen Roffe also does personalised initials or ages which are equally as lovely.


When I saw this I knew exactly who I would love to give this to this Christmas! I love the contrast of the black and gold and the inspiration behind the print. Each print is hand screen printed in Leeds, so it really is a special gift to give someone.


I love how the waves have been incorporated into a finger print - it's such a clever, but simple design!


Mugs


I don't know about you, but there is always someone who just wants books for Christmas, and while I love a good book, this is a great alternative: a mug to keep them company with some tea while they read.


I love how each mug is slightly different and therefore completely unique - a perfect gift for someone who loves rare finds! I love the blue drip glaze and the added texture it gives the mug.


A beautiful, handmade alternative to a travel mug that comes with a silicon lid and a fabric band. Not only is the mug dishwasher and microwave safe, but the fabric band can be popped in the washing machine: a practical and beautiful sustainable gift!


Candles


I was recently lucky enough to receive a The Botanical Candle Co. candle as a gift. When I checked out their website, I loved the idea of candle subscriptions. Flower and plant subscriptions have become very popular recently and I think the idea of having candles sent to your door each month is perfect! They have lots of subscriptions available, but this specific one is will include a candle, a tealight or wax melt, and some candle accessories.


These gorgeous handmade glass tea light holders are the perfect festive decoration and gift! They're so elegant, but also cosy.


For someone who has more modern or minimalist taste, this metal iscohedron can be used as the perfect cathedral candle holder, or for a group of smaller candles.


Clothes


Knitwear is always a lovely gift at Christmas time, but for someone who is creative or wants to try their hand at knitting, this is a lovely gift that enables them to personalise it and feel proud of their creation.


Flourish provides custom painted and embroidered designs on clothes - a gorgeous additional touch if you're thinking of buying someone an item of clothing for Christmas. I love her designs so much!


I love the simplicity of this cosy sweater and, even though the photos on Etsy suggest it is just for women, it is unisex.


Jewellery


A popular Christmas present idea is personalised family necklaces, and this is such a beautiful version based on the phrase 'the apple doesn't fall too far from the tree'!


This simple and elegant bangle set is a wonderful gift to show someone how brave and true they are.


I first saw these at Bath Christmas Market and instantly loved the delicacy and colour of these real leaves dipped in precious metals.


Kids


Despite not having any kids of our own yet, I have been following Blossom and Bear for a long time. I love their fun, creative, and - let's face it - cool designs.


I love this idea for teaching children their ABCs, but also all about different emotions so they can have language around how they're feeling. The perfect stocking filler!


The perfect way to pack your gifts, or a great alternative to stockings! Alternatively, the children themselves could stitch them their selves.


2019


I love planners that allow you to see the whole year in a glance and see which seasons are the busiest and this one adds colour to the gloomiest of days!


I love all the fun patterns and fonts in this gorgeous slimline calendar - the perfect way to record all the fun things happening in 2019!


While this product is Australian, I loved the simple design and the organisation of the planning sections. The perfect gift who someone who loves to stay organised!

bottom of page